Contact Us

Please NoteHarrisburg Town Hall as well as the Harrisburg Parks and Recreation Offices are currently closed to the public. If you need assistance, please contact us during office hours, M-F, 8am to 5pm at: 704-455-7275

Staff Directory:

Daniel Stines: Parks and Recreation Director: dstines@harrisburgnc.org / 704-455-0726

Shawn Marble: Assistant Parks & Recreation Director: smarble@harrisburgnc.org / 704-455-0724

Mike Kirby: Recreation Coordinator: mkirby@harrisburgnc.org / 704-455-0725

Erin Kegley-Parris: Recreation Coordinator: ekegley@harrisburgnc.org / 704-455-0723

April Corley Sloop: Events and Marketing Coordinator: acorley@harrisburgnc.org 

Daniel Vestal: Administrative Assistant: dvestal@harrisburgnc.org / 704-455-0722

Adam Abernathy: Park Superintendent: aabernathy@harrisburgnc.org / 704-455-0736

Scott Sizemore: Facilities Maintenance Supervisor: ssizemore@harrisburgnc.org

Garrison Quay: Facilities Maintenance Specialist

Chad Thinnes: Facilities Maintenance Specialist 

Clint Collins: Facilities Maintenance Specialist 

Jeff Boyer: Facilities Maintenance Specialist 

Andy Lombi: Facilities Maintenance Specialist 

George South Jr.: Maintenance Supervisor, Buildings and Grounds: gsouth@harrisburgnc.org

Donna Whitley: Custodial Worker

Mission Statement

"Dedicated to Making a Great Community"

We are committed to providing safe and inviting parks and facilities, meeting current and future community needs through meaningful and diverse recreational programs, cultural activities and services.

Our staff is responsive, positive and ethical in their dedication to delivering:

  1. Personal Benefits that develop personal growth, strengthen individual self-esteem, enhance quality of life and offer something for everyone. 
  2. Social Benefits that strengthen and bond families and unite and connect people within our evolving diverse community while promoting healthy lifestyles.
  3. Economic Benefits and Opportunities that welcome new business, relocation of business and expansion of business which leads to a more productive work force and increased tourism opportunities.
  4. Environmental Benefits that protect and preserve our historical and cultural heritages and protect and preserve lands and open space while maintaining the natural beauties of Harrisburg. 

About Us

Harrisburg Parks and Recreation Department and youth sports programs have a long-standing tradition of strong community support and volunteerism. In the early 1990s, volunteers with the Harrisburg Youth Association (HYA) consolidated all local youth sport leagues under HYA with major sponsorships from Land O’ Frost and Dick’s Sporting Goods. Over time, league participation grew beyond the capabilities of an all-volunteer staff. 

Harrisburg Parks and Recreation Department was created to meet the growing community need for organized recreational and athletic programs. Today, the Department serves more than 3,500 adults and children from Harrisburg and neighboring communities enrolled in year-round sports leagues, recreational sports like tennis and running and special programs like summer camp, Zumba, karate and more. The Department also hosts over a dozen family events throughout the year, including community concerts, Movies in the Park and holiday events.

Several of the current and previous members of Harrisburg Town Council were instrumental in the creation of HYA, including Mayor Steve Sciascia and former Councilwoman Benita Conrad. Harrisburg Youth Association continues to operate as a 501 (c) (3) under town management as a fundraising organization to support and expand recreational opportunities in Harrisburg and has recently been renamed Harrisburg Community and Youth Association (HCYA).

Related Links

Explore recreational amenities and programs in the Harrisburg area through the links below: