March 25, 2020 COVID-19 Update

Cabarrus, municipalities announce Stay at Home Proclamation

A Stay at Home Proclamation for residents of Cabarrus County, the cities of Concord and Kannapolis, and the towns of Harrisburg, Midland and Mt. Pleasant will take effect Thursday, March 26 at 5 p.m.

The Proclamation requires residents to remain in their homes and limits mass gatherings to groups of 10 or fewer.

What the Stay at Home Proclamation means for you

The Stay at Home Proclamation is designed to continue preventing the spread of COVID-19 in our community. The Proclamation directs residents to shelter at home and limit travel outside the home beyond handling specific essential needs. County leaders will continually review the Proclamation, and it may be revised or extended based on recommendations from the Cabarrus Health Alliance and Cabarrus County Emergency Management.

According to the Proclamation, Cabarrus residents should stay at their homes, but can leave to “provide or receive certain essential services or engage in certain essential activities and work for essential businesses and governmental services.”

Essential businesses or operations include healthcare and public health operations, human services operations, essential government functions and essential infrastructure. All these functions are fully outlined in the Proclamation.

Read the full Proclamation.

Get answers to Frequently Asked Questions.

Amendment of Declaration of Local State of Emergency

A Joint Proclamation involving Cabarrus County, Concord, Kannapolis, Harrisburg, Mt. Pleasant, and Midland was concurrently adopted on March 25, 2020 for the purposes of ensuring the maximum number of people self-isolate in their places of residence to the maximum extent feasible, while enabling essential services to continue, to slow the spread of COVID-19 to the maximum extent possible.

All individuals living within Cabarrus County are restricted to their places of residence. All persons may leave their residences only for Essential Activities, Essential Government Functions, to operate Essential Business, or as otherwise defined in the Proclamation. All public and private gatherings of more than 10 people are also prohibited, except for the limited purposes permitted in the Joint Proclamation.

View the Amendment of Declaration of Local State of Emergency.